My Hope is in You, Lord.

The Lord is my strength and my shield; my heart trusts in him, and he helps me. My heart leaps for joy, and with my song I praise Him.
Psalm 28:7

I have been trying to focus on this joy lately. It’s been HARD.

I’ve dealt with some heartache and frustration. I’ve been really wary of a few situations that I have going on right now, and it’s complicated my entire life. In fact, somewhere in the past month I’ve developed an eye twitch. I’m not sure when it started, but I’m pretty sure I know why it has started.

Anyway, If I’ve learned anything in my 26 years of life, I’ve learned that during these times it’s extremely important to trust Jesus, and to worship him anyway. So, for the past month I’ve done just that. I’ve tried to make my song that much louder, to make my faith in Him stronger. Even when I feel like I’m being pulled 100 different directions, I have been sure to thank Him for his mercy and grace. Sometimes it feels redundant, and many nights I have gone to bed exhausted, but unable to sleep.

Last night before bed, I read my devotion on the phone with my mom. It was so good, she had me read it twice. Part of it reads:

“Yet, in spite of all these good things, most people are just going through the motions and the reality of Christianity is absent. It is not the good works we do, or the activities we engage in; rather, it is a personal knowledge of God. When we begin to know God, something in our life explodes, and the world begins to notice. You may be the only tract the world will ever read. Is your life in such accord with God that people can look at you and get to know God?” (A.W. Tozer)

 

Powerful, right?

I have had it on my mind since reading it.

Do others see me as just another person? Am I treating others with the same grace that I’m asking for? Does God’s love shine through me?

I’m thankful that the Lord points me in the right direction. I’m thankful that He understands my mindset and what I’m dealing with in my life. I’m grateful that when I feel like I don’t want to try anymore, He gently guides my focus back to Him.

“I wait for You and my soul finds rest.
In my selfishness, You show me grace.
I worship You and my heart cries ‘Glory
Hallelujah Father, You’re Here!'”
(My Hope is in You – Aaron Shust)

 

Leave a Reply

